Topmenü - Englisch0

Bjarke Falgren & Sönke Meinen – Postcard to Self (CD 2018)



With their duo debut album “Postcard to Self“ violinist and fourfold Danish grammy winner Bjarke Falgren and guitarist Sönke Meinen, winner of the Guitar Masters competition, re-shaped the sound of a violin and guitar duo to an original musical approach full of surprising timbres, emotional depth, intimacy and overwhelming playfulness. Their music is expressive and stirring, with an underlying calmness that anchors the listener; and every composition captures the magic of storytelling without words.

Falgren and Meinen composed and arranged the music for „Postcard to Self” in an old schoolhouse in a small and sleepy village in the Danish countryside. Inspired by the beauty of the old house and the Scandinavian landscape their compositions mix folk influences with classical music, fingerstyle guitar, jazz and a pinch of film music. They recorded the album themselves at the same magical place where their music was written, retaining the stories and inspiration of the pieces in a very personal way. 

“Postcard to Self“ gets the listener travel to different times, it is a playful soundtrack to childlike wonder as well as looking back to old memories. It delivers the same intrigue and anticipation as opening a letter or flicking through old photographs. It is a musical invitation to pause and reflect on what we would choose to tell our future self, if we write ourselves a postcard today.

1. Postcard to Self
2. La Linea
3. The Breeze and the Curtain
4. The Drifter
5. By the Old Schoolhouse
6. Christmas Waltz
7. Watch your Step
8. A Magical Place
9. Nostalgia
10. A Night in Tunisia
11. On a Cold Winter’s Night
12. Misty Morning Sunrise
13. Fata Morgana
14. Message from Home

“A simpatico of creative minds and styles that compliment each other and raise each others’ level of excellence to a height rarely seen now. I hope to see the world discover that beauty in music is still here on Planet Earth and you two young men are sailing freely on the currents that flow between us and all that is possible! I salute you both!”
– Tommy Emmanuel cgp

“A wonderful CD! Full of texture, depth and intimacy and many new ways of looking at the art of the guitar & violin duo. I love it! Thanks guys!”
– Mike Marshall

“Deep musicality and enviable virtuosity to create music of stunning beauty. Guitarist Sönke Meinen´s partnership with violinist Bjarke Falgren is a pure delight!”
– Martin Taylor

“Bjarke Falgren and Sönke Meinen play with a lightness and delicacy that one rarely hears. This album is filled with refinement and nuance. Postcard to Self is a beautiful recording!”
– Martin Hayes


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Bjarke Falgren & Sönke Meinen – Postcard to Self (CD 2018)”